Main | Registration | Speakers | Schedule | Sponsorship | FAQ
Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3


2021 AAOM Virtual Annual Conference Schedule

April 15–17, 2021

Take a moment to explore the virtual conference schedule. Enjoy expert panels and insightful lectures over the course of three educationally-packed days. Each day will offer plenty of breaks so you can stretch your legs, grab coffee, and re-energize before your next session.

Use the links above or below to view a detailed schedule for each day. 

 Day 1: Thursday, April 15 Day 2: Friday, April 16 | Day 3: Saturday, April 17


How Can I Earn CDE Virtually?

In one of two ways:

Option 1: Live

  1. Watch the session live or recorded
  2. Attend the Live Q&A portion 
  3. Complete the evaluations for each session

Option 2: Self-Study

  1. Review each session PowerPoint presentation
  2. Watch session recordings
  3. Complete (and pass with 100%) a brief post-test for each session

Both of these options are available to you when you register. Remember, you may only participate in one of the two options, and credit for each session may only be received one time.


Schedule-at-a-Glance

Day 1: Thursday, April 15

Time (Pacific/Eastern) Discussion
  7:00 – 7:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 10:30 AM (ET)
Welcome and Introduction
  7:30 – 8:30 AM (PT)
10:30 – 11:30 AM (ET)
Sol Silverman Memorial Lecture
  8:30 – 9:00 AM (PT)
11:30 – 12:00 PM (ET)
Break
  Plenary Session 1: The Pursuit of Better Patient-Centered Outcomes
  9:00 – 9:35 AM (PT)
12:00 – 12:35 PM (ET)
Plenary Session 1A | Oral Cancer awareness: Support, Advocacy, and Hope for Better Outcomes
   9:35 – 10:10 AM (PT)
12:35 – 1:10 PM (ET)
Plenary Session 1B | Standardization and Validation of Treatment Outcome Measures in Oral Mucosal Lesions
  10:10 – 10:45 AM (PT)
1:10 – 1:45 PM (ET) 
Plenary Session 1C | Disease Definition and Diagnostic Criteria in Neuropathic Pain: A Call for Consensus
  10:45 – 11:00 AM (PT)
1:45 – 2:00 PM (ET)
Plenary Session 1 Live Q&A with Speakers
  11:00 – 12:00 PM (PT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)

Lunch

  Oral Medicine Practice Session
  12:00 – 12:35 PM (PT)
3:00 – 3:35 PM (ET)
OMP Session Lecture 1 | Infective Endocarditis Prevention: An Oral Medicine Researcher’s Perspective
  12:35 – 1:10 PM (PT)
3:35 – 4:10 PM (ET)
OMP Session Lecture 2 | Oral Health and Dental Procedures Infectious Cardiovascular Conditions: The Risk of Infection from the Cardiologist’s Perspective
  1:10 – 1:45 PM (PT)
4:10 – 4:45 PM (ET)
OMP Session Lecture 3 | Oral Health and Infectious Cardiovascular Conditions: Does the Risk of Dental Therapy Outweigh the Benefit in Patients with Compromised Cardiovascular Health?
  1:45 – 2:00 PM (PT)
4:45 – 5:00 PM (ET)
OMP Session Live Q&A
  2:00 – 2:30 PM (PT)
5:00 – 5:30 PM (ET)
General Assembly Meeting
  2:00 – 5:00 PM (PT)
5:00 – 8:00 PM (ET)
Oral Abstracts 2020 | Self Study Session

Day 2: Friday, April 16

Time (Pacific/Eastern) Discussion
 

Plenary Session 2: Neoplasia: Extending the Frontiers of Knowledge

  7:00 – 7:35 AM (PT)
10:00 – 10:35 AM (ET)
Plenary Session 2A | Chimeric Antigen Receptor (CAR) T-cell Therapy: The Current Success and the Future Promises in Combating Hematologic Neoplasia
  7:35 – 8:10 AM (PT)
10:35 – 11:10 AM (ET) 

Plenary Session 2B | Beyond the Phenotypic Characteristics of Dysplasia: Insights into the Future

  8:10 – 8:45 AM (PT)
11:10 – 11:45 AM (ET) 
Plenary Session 2C | Oral Neoplasia in People Living with HIV: Divide, Detect and Conquer
  8:45 – 9:00 AM (PT)
11:45 – 12:00 PM (ET)
Plenary Session 2 Live Q&A
  9:00 – 9:30 AM
12:00 – 12:30 PM

Break

  9:30 – 11:00 AM (PT)
12:30 – 2:00 PM (ET) 
Clinicopathologic Expert Panel
  11:00 – 12:00 PM (PT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)
Lunch
  12:00 – 1:30 PM (PT)
3:00 – 4:30 PM (ET)
Lester Burket Awards Lecture
  1:30 – 2:30 PM (PT)
4:30 – 5:30 PM  (ET)

The World Workshop on Oral Medicine

  2:30 – 5:30 PM (PT)
5:30 – 8:30 PM (ET)

Oral Abstracts 2021 | Self Study Session

Day 3: Saturday, April 17

Time (Pacific/Eastern) Discussion
  7:00 – 7:45 AM (PT)
10:00 – 10:45 AM (ET)

Jonathan Ship Lecture | The Impact of Head and Neck Cancer Radiotherapy on Salivary Flow and its Subsequent Recovery: Results of the OraRad study

  7:45 – 8:30 AM (PT)
10:45 – 11:30 AM (ET)

Samuel Charles Miller Lecture

  8:30 – 9:00 AM (PT)
11:30 – 12:00 PM (ET)

Break

  Plenary Session 3 | A Global Perspective of Oral Medicine: History, Current Status, and International Collaborative Efforts (A Virtual Discussion Panel)
  9:00 – 9:10 AM (PT)
12:00 – 12:10 PM (ET)
Plenary 3 Global Perspective | Saudi Arabia
  9:10 – 9:20 AM (PT)
12:10 – 12:20 PM (ET)
Plenary 3 Global Perspective | Nigeria
  9:20 – 9:30 AM (PT)
12:20 – 12:30 PM (ET)
Plenary 3 Global Perspective | Sweden
  9:30 – 9:40 AM (PT)
12:30 – 12:40 PM (ET)
Plenary 3 Global Perspective | China
  9:40 – 9:50 AM (PT)
12:40 – 12:50 PM (ET)
Plenary 3 Global Perspective | Brazil
  9:50 – 11:00 AM (PT)
12:50 – 2:00 PM (ET)
Plenary Session 3 Live Q&A
  11:00 – 12:00 PM (PT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)

Lunch

  12:00 – 1:30 PM (PT)
3:00 – 4:30 PM (ET)
Case Reports Awards
  1:30 – 2:30 PM (PT)
4:30 – 5:30 PM (ET)
Awards and Closing Remarks
  2:30 – 3:00 PM (PT)
5:30 – 6:00 PM (ET)
Virtual Social

The American Academy of Oral Medicine is an ADA CERP Recognized Provider. ADA CERP is a service of the American Dental Association to assist dental professionals in identifying quality providers of continuing dental education. ADA CERP does not approve or endorse individual courses or instructors, nor does it imply acceptance of credit hours by boards of dentistry. The American Academy of Oral Medicine designates this activity for 16 continuing education credits.