Return to the Spring 2019 Newsletter

Spring 2019 Newsletter: Message from the Immediate Past-President

Dear AAOM Colleagues,

It was wonderful to see so many of you in New Orleans for the annual conference! The scientific sessions were filled to capacity with thought-provoking lectures regarding the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information delivered by international experts in their respective fields. Representatives from over 20 countries were in attendance and the Academy was fortunate to receive the highest level of corporate sponsorship for an annual conference in recent memory. I extend my congratulations to all those recognized for individual achievements at the President’s Awards Banquet. Many thanks to the National Meeting Committee Chairs, Dr. Craig Hatch and Dr. Michaell Huber, as well as Ms. Michelle Reeder, Ms. Karen Thompson and Ms. Katie Berry of SBI Association Management, for all of their hard work to organize a spectacular conference at an outstanding venue.

There were several initiatives this past year that resulted in forward progress of the Academy. These include:
  1. Development and implementation of a structured mentoring program
  2. Revitalization of the Membership Committee under the leadership of Dr. Michael Hatton
  3. Analysis of the Academy’s fiscal needs
  4. Approval of Bylaws revisions that addressed member definitions / privileges and creation of a Past Presidents Committee
  5. Completion of updates to four AAOM Clinicians' Guides
  6. Increasing the Academy’s presence on social media under the direction of Dr. Jaisri Thoppay
  7. Appointment of Dr. Michael Brennan as Oral Medicine Educator on the CODA Review Committee
  8. Acceptance of a competitive proposal for an Oral Medicine educational session at the 2020 Annual Meeting of the American College of Physicians
  9. Completion of an application for specialty recognition of Oral Medicine and submission to the National Commission on Recognition of Dental Specialties and Certifying Boards under the guidance of Dr. Craig Miller, Dr. Doug Peterson and Dr. Nathaniel Treister.

We must realize that none of these efforts would have come to fruition without the dedicated work of our volunteer leaders and members. I extend my sincere appreciation to the Executive Committee, the Board of Trustees, Committee Chairs, Executive Director and all those who played a role in the forward progress of the Academy this past year.

Thank you again for the honor and privilege to serve as your President.


Eric T. Stoopler, D.M.D., FDSRCS, FDSRCPS
Immediate Past-President, AAOM